Getting Here

The modern Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) is a regional aviation hub serviced by more than 50 airlines. Flying to Asia via Kuala Lumpur makes good sense as there are many scheduled flights to domestic destinations in Peninsular and East Malaysia as well as regionally to all the main gateway destinations of Asia.

There are 47 international airlines operating through Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and servicing over 100 global destinations.

× If you are using mobile devices, please swipe to the right to view the full content
Airlines Name Code Contact No Website
Aeroflot SU 03-2161 0231 www.aeroflot.ru/eng
Air Asia AK 03-8775 4000 www.airasia.com
Air India AI 03-2142 0166 www.airindia.com
British Airways BA 1800 881 260 www.britishairways.com
Cathay Pacific Airways CX 03-2035 2788 www.cathaypacific.com
China Airlines CI 03-2142 7344 www.china-airlines.com
Garuda Indonesian Airlines GA 03-2162 2811 www.garuda-indonesia.com
Japan Airlines JL 03-2161 1722 www.jal.com
Lufthansa LH 03-2161 4666 www.lufthansa.com
Malaysia Airlines MH 1300 883 000, 03-2161 0555 www.malaysiaairlines.com
Qantas QF 1800 881 260 www.qantas.com
Royal Brunei Airlines BI 03-2070 7166 www.bruneiair.com
Singapore Airlines SQ 03-2692 3122 www.singaporeair.com
Thai Airways International TG 03-2031 2900 www.thaiairways.com
Vietnam Airlines VN   www.vietnamairlines.com
Virgin Atlantic VS 03-2143 0322 www.virgin-atlantic.com

Brunei
You can fly from KL and Kota Kinabalu to Bandar Seri Begawan. Because of the difference in exchange rates, it's cheaper to fly to Brunei from Malaysia than vice versa.

Cambodia
Flights between KL and Phnom Penh are available with Malaysia Airlines, Air Asia and Royal Phnom Penh Airways. Air Asia also flies from KL to Siem Reap.

Indonesia
It's a short hop from Pulau Penang to Medan in Sumatra. To Java, the cheapest connections are from Singapore. There are also weekly flights between Kuching and Pontianak in Kalimantan (Indonesia), and between Tawau in Sabah and Tarakan in Kalimantan.

Philippines
You can fly with Malaysia Airlines or Air Asia from KL to Cebu/Manila. Air Asia also has flights to Manila from Kota Kinabalu.

Singapore
Malaysia Airlines and Singapore Airlines have frequent services to KL. Malaysia Airlines also connects Singapore to Langkawi and Penang.

Thailand
There are flights between Bangkok and KL or Kota Kinabalu, and between Phuket and Koh Samui with Penang.

Vietnam
Malaysia Airlines and Vietnam Airlines operate flights from KL to Ho Chi Minh City and Hanoi. Air Asia runs flights from KL to Hanoi.